Sergeant George Tipping was one of hundreds of Buffalo Irishmen who joined the ranks of the Union Army. His rare collection of original letters provides a look at one family’s struggle with the familiar themes of war, separation and survival.
The full content is available in the Summer 2015 Issue.
Founded in 1859 by three German churches, Concordia Cemetery has served the changing East Side community ever since. Today, the stories of its “residents” continue to be preserved through a variety of efforts and events.
Nearly a century ago, vision and craftsmanship created a unique attraction. Now new visionaries and craftspeople have brought it back home.
The experiences of Eugene Hegedüs, who came to this region as a refugee after the 1956 Hungarian Revolution, shed light on the history of the local Piarist Fathers, the Calasanctius School and the Frank Lloyd Wright-designed Graycliff estate.