Part II of the life and times of one of Buffalo's most honored heroes explores Donovan's pivotal roles as: founder of the OSS, Director of Intelligence under FDR, Nuremberg prosecutor and ambassador to Thailand.
Edwin G. Weinheimer was the last and the longest tenured Delaware Park superintendent. He retired in 1963 after serving thirty years in the same post. He and his wife, Della Bowes, raised their four children in the stone Arts and Crafts residence at 1263 Elmwood, located between the Art Gallery and Penhurst Park.
One hundred and fifty years ago Buffalo's Bidwell & Banta shipyard built some of the largest and most luxurious wooden side-wheel steamboats in the world. These "Palace Steamers" rivaled the best of the ocean-going steamers of the Atlantic coast and were part of the romance of Buffalo's role as the gateway to the west.
They were as unique to the Buffalo waterfront as gondolas were to Venice. Something of our own – slipped away, lost in history.
Built in 1904 by architect George F. Newton, The Hellenic Orthodox Church of the Annunciation, formerly the North Presbyterian Church, embodies the enduring values of the Gothic Revival in American architecture.
Memories of growing up on Buffalo's East Side in the 1940s-50s.
Frank Lloyd Wright's former apprentice returns to Buffalo to share his experience with the architect.